Monday, 25 June 2012

2012 Scottish Children's Book Awards

The shortlist for the Scottish Children's Book Awards was announced this morning. Here are 8 of the 9 happy authors: the gentlemen are (left to right) James Kilgore, John Fardell, Barry Hutchison and Jonathan Meres. The ladies are Elizabeth Laird, Julia Donaldson, Elizabeth Wien and Catherine Rayner. The awards are voted for by Scottish children, who now have seven months to read the books before the winners are announced on World Book Day (7/3/13). Information on how to get involved can be found by following the link above.

The full shortlist is:

Bookbug Readers (0-7 years)

- Jack and the Flum Flum Tree by Julia Donaldson, Illustrated by David Roberts (Macmillan)
-The Day Louis Got Eaten by John Fardell (Andersen Press)
-Solomon Crocodile by Catherine Rayner (Macmillan)

Younger Readers (8-11 years)

-Out of the Depths by Cathy MacPhail (Bloomsbury)
-Soldier’s Game by James Killgore (Floris Books)
-The World of Norm: May Contain Nuts by Jonathan Meres (Orchard)

Older Readers (12-16 years)

-The 13th Horseman by Barry Hutchison (Harper Collins)
-Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein (Electric Monkey)
-The Prince Who Walked With Lions by Elizabeth Laird (Macmillan)

Borrow them from the University of Strathclyde's Andersonian Library, where children's books are housed on Level 5, or try your public library.

The Scottish Children’s Book Awards are managed by Scottish Book Trust in partnership with Creative Scotland, and supported by the Times Educational Supplement Scotland (TESS) and Waterstone’s.


  1. Thank you for this post, Anabel. I shall use it in Hillhead Primary School bookclub in the next session.

    1. Thanks Gordana! Keep an eye on the blog, it will keep going despite changes.